3rd International Conference on
Nuclear Photonics (NP2020)
New Schedule: June 7-11, 2021, ONLINE

How to log-in?

One-page Time Table (PDF) revised on 4th 9th June

The next conference on Nuclear Phtonics will be held in USA in 2023.

Latest Information

(20 May 2021) The 4th Circular uploaded
(22 Apr 2021) The virtual venue OPEN
(14 Apr 2021) Notification of Acceptance released to authors
(30 Mar 2021) NP2020 is organized in cooperation with the International Atomic Energy Agency
(29 Mar 2021) List of Invited Speakers announced
(29 Mar 2021) Early-dird registration deadline postponed.
( 1 Feb 2021) Absdtract Submission due date postponed again
(12 Jan 2021) Abstract Submission due date postponed
(22 Dec 2020) The 3rd Circular uploaded

About NP2020:

The field of photon based nuclear science and applications is evolving rapidly being driven by the major worldwide developments of ultrahigh intensity lasers and brilliant quasi monochromatic gamma ray beam systems.

The 3rd International Conference on Nuclear Photonics (NP2020) will be held during June 1-5, 2020 June 7-11, 2021 in Kurashiki Online, Japan. The conference will be organized by the Institute of Laser Engineering (ILE) and Research Center for Nuclear Physics (RCNP), under Institute for Open and Transdisciplinary Research Initiatives (OTRI), Osaka University, Osaka Japan.

Nuclear Photonics 2020 aims at bringing together leading scientists, researchers and research scholars from around the world involved in the fields of high energy density physics, high power laser photonics, nuclear physics, astrophysics, accelerator and detector science, and their applications for exchanging and sharing the experience and most recent results.
Nuclear Photonics 2020 is organized in cooperation with the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA).


The focus of Nuclear Photonics 2020 will be on the following main topics:

  • Interactions between photons and nucleus/hadrons particles
  • Laser-plasma nuclear physics
  • High-intensity laser-plasma interactions
  • Laser Compton scattering gamma-rays
  • Photon-enabled secondary beams (ion, neutron, electron, positron, etc.) generation and its applications
  • Photon-based production of rare isotopes
  • Nuclear astrophysics and cosmology
  • Fundamental photon science
  • Strong field QED
  • Photon vortex and unique wave function photons
  • Isotope-specific nuclear materials detection, and evaluation
  • Medical radioisotopes for radiography and radiotherapy
  • Ultra-high intensity laser optics and technology
  • Accelerator and detector science

Conference Chairs:

Ryosuke Kodama, Director of Institute of Laser Engineering, Osaka University
Takashi Nakano, Director of Research Center for Nuclear Physics, Osaka University




Conference Program:

Keynote Speakers:

Prof. Victor Malka, Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel

Prof. Andreas Zilges, University of Cologne,Germany

Prof. Georg Korn, ELI-Beam Lines, Czech Republic

Scientific Program
: Please visit the Virtual Venue below:

PDF version of the Time Table
Scientific Program was revised. Please check the latest version in the Virtual Venue.


Registration Site:

Note the registration system has been reformed completely for the ONLINE conference.
Please register AGAIN on the site below, even if you have already done on the previous system.
The registration site is operated by "Confit" of Atlas Co., Ltd.

Early-bird registration deadline: April 15 (Thu) 2021

Regular registration deadline:
April 30 (Fri), 2021 (Japan Standard Time/GMT+9:00)

Registration Fee:

Early Bird, Regular Registration: 10,000 JPY
Early Bird, Student Registration: 5,000 JPY

Regular Registration: 15,000 JPY
Student Registration: 7,500 JPY
  • 1 USD ≈ 110 JPY

Abstract Submission:


Note the submission system has been reformed completely for the ONLINE conference.
Please submit AGAIN your abstract on the site below, even if you have already done on the previous system

Please submit your abstract from the registration site.
  • Abstracts must be submitted in PDF format (Maximum file size: 4 MB).
  • Abstracts are limited to 1 page and should be formatted based on the NP2020 Abstract Template.
  • Abstracts are text only. No figures, images, or tables are allowed.
Abstract Template (MS-WORD)

Important Dates:

Abstract submission opens: November 26 (Thu) 2020
Abstract submission closes:
January 12 (Tue) 2021 February 1 (Mon) 2021February 10 (Wed) 2021
Notification to authors: Early of April 2021
Regular registration deadline: April 30 (Fri), 2021
(Japan Standard Time/GMT+9:00)


International Advisory Board:

Chris Barty, University of California at Irvine, USA
Ryoichi Hajima, National Institutes for Quantum and Radiological Science and Technology (QST), Japan
Nicolae Victor Zamfir, ELI-Nuclear Physics/Horia Hulubei National Institute of Physics and Nuclear Engineering, Romania
Karl Krushelnick, University of Michigan, USA
Chang Hee Nam, Center for Relativistic Laser Science, Korea
Sergey V. Bulanov, ELI- Beamlines/ Institute of Physics, Czech Academy of Science, Czech
Mitsuru Uesaka, The University of Tokyo, Japan
Norbert Pietralla, Technische Universität Darmstadt, Germany
Chary Rangacharyulu, University of Saskatchewan, Canada
Tadayuki Takahashi, The University of Tokyo, Japan
Calvin R. Howell, Duke University, USA

Program Committee Chair:

Takehito Hayakawa, QST, Japan

Program Advisory Committee:

Paul McKenna (University of Strathclyde, UK)
Markus Roth (Technische Universität Darmstadt, Germany)
Julian Fuchs (LULI, CNRS, Ecole Polytechnique, France)
Yutong Li (Chinese Academy of Science, China)
James Koga (QST, Japan)
Tatiana Pikuz (Osaka University, Japan)
Chary Rangacharyulu (University of Saskatchewan, Canada)
Myung-Ki Cheoun (Soongsil University, Korea)
Peter von Neumann-Cosel (Technische Universität Darmstadt, Germany)
Henry Weller (Duke University, USA)
Heishun Zen (Kyoto University, Japan)
Angela Bracco (Milano, Italy)
Sunniva Siem (Oslo, Norway)
Toshiyuki Shizuma (QST, Japan)
Anton P. Tonchev (LLNL, USA)
Sotirios Charisopoulos (International Atomic Energy Agency, Austria)
Naohito Otsuka (International Atomic Energy Agency, Austria)
Yasunobu Arikawa (ILE, Japan)
Shinsuke Fujioka (ILE, Japan)
Takayoshi Sano (ILE, Japan)
Shigeki Tokita (ILE, Japan)

Atsushi Hosaka (RCNP, Japan)

Local Chairs:

Akifumi Yogo, ILE, Osaka University
Atsushi Tamii, RCNP, Osaka University

Local Organizing Committee:

Y. Abe (ILE), Y. Arikawa (ILE), M. Nakai (ILE), S. Fujioka (ILE),
T. Hotta (RCNP), N. Kobayashi (RCNP), T. Shima (RCNP), T. Kawabata (Dep. of Phys.), A. Odahara (Dep. of Phys.)


Ms. M. Kurisu (ILE), and Ms. A. Morimoto (RCNP)
e-mail: np2020 (at) photon.osaka-u.ac.jp

NP2018, Burasov, Romania

Nuclear Photonics 2020 (NP2020) Kurashiki